Hamptons | Hamptons.com | | | Hugh Jackman, Ricky Martin, Matthew Broderick Among Nominees For The 30th Fred & Adele Astaire Award...
Hamptons.com Logo

Hugh Jackman, Ricky Martin, Matthew Broderick Among Nominees For The 30th Fred & Adele Astaire Awards

Originally Posted: May 17, 2012

Edward Callaghan

The cast of "Newsies" was positively thrilled with the announcement. (Photo: Michael McAuliffe)

New York City - The 30th Fred & Adele Astaire Awards were announced by New York Post Theater Critic Michael Riedel at a glittering reception at the historic Lamb's Club in the heart of the theater district. The gleaming Art deco venue was the perfect setting for "The Astaires", the only awards to recognize excellence in and on the Broadway Stage and in film. The Awards Gala will take place at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at New York University on June 4. As previously announced, Liza Minnelli will receive the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award named for the late esteemed drama critic Douglas Watt who along with Fred Astaire co-founded the awards in 1982.

Gala Co-Chair and Associate Producer Carolyn Kendall Buchter, Ron Buchter, and Producer Patricia Watt. (Photo: Michael McAuliffe)

The Astaire Awards will also begin a new tradition, paying tribute to the career and work of a choreographer and dancer during the awards. This year they will be remembering Bob Fosse and Gwen Verdon. Other honors to be presented include the "Adele Astaire Scholarship," awarded to a young up-and-coming dancer, and a special award for three-time Tony Award-nominated producer Kathleen Raitt, in recognition of her helping found The Astaire Awards in 1982. This year's awards ceremony will also be dedicated to Tony and Oscar-winning producer Marty Richards, a longtime friend of the awards.

Among the crowd applauding the nominees - especially for the multiple nominations for "Evita", "Nice Work If You Can get It", and "Newsies" - were female dancer nominees: Elena Roger, Kara Lindsay, Ashley Amber, Bahiyah Hibah, Lisa Nicole Wilkerson; male dancer nominees, Matthew Broderick, Ryan Steele, Jason Tam , Robert Hartwell, Jeremy Jordan, Thayne Jasperson, Ryan Breslin, Ephraim Sykes: Outstanding Choreographer nominees Ronald K. Brown, Kathleen Marshall & Christopher Gattelli and from the world of film, Ella Baff, Executive and Artistic Director of Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, Ron Honsa, Director of "Never Stand Still" and Nan Penman, Producer of 'Never Stand Still". Broderick nominated for "Nice Work If You Can Get IT" was praised by host Riedel to the delight of the show's director Kathleen Marshall who was also nominated. Nominee Elena Roger who plays Evita whooped when her co-star Ricky Martin's name was also read and lusty cheers filled the room when "Newsies" received a whopping 7 nominations including best choreographer for Christopher Gattelli.

Also in the crowd were three time Tony winning producer Kathleen Raitt, dance world legend Marge Champion and Astaire Awards Producer Patricia Watt, Associate Producers Sarah Bierstock and Carolyn Kendall Buchter who also co-chairs the gala with Alix Michel, Honorary Chair Wendy Federman, Benefit Chair Sara Ann Johnson, Director Joe Lanteri, Nominating committee member Bruce Michael, the incomparable Lee Roy Reams who is on the Awarding Committee, singer Sue Mathys, filmmaker Albert Maysles and pianist/artist Andrew Wargo.

The 30th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards will take place on Monday, June 4th at 7:30pm at NYU's Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. A limited number of tickets are available to the public at www.TheAstaireAwards.org.

Nominees Matthew Broderick and Director/Choreographer Kathleen Marshall. (Photo: Michael McAuliffe)

The 2012 nominees are as follows:

Outstanding Female Dancer:
Elena Roger (Evita)
Kara Lindsay (Newsies)
Kelli O'Hara (Nice Work if You Can Get it)
Patti Murin (Lysistrata Jones)
Krystal Joy Brown (Leap of Faith)
Jan Maxwell (Follies)
Lisa Nicole Wilkerson (Porgy & Bess)
Ashley Amber (Evita)
Bahiyah Hibah (Evita)

Outstanding Male Dancer:
Ricky Martin (Evita)
Ryan Steele (Newsies)
Jason Tam (Lysistrata Jones)
Robert Hartwell (Nice Work)
Mathew Broderick (Nice Work if You Can Get it)
Jeremy Jordan (Newsies)
Leslie Odom, Jr. (Leap of Faith)
Thayne Jasperson (Newsies)
Ryan Breslin (Newsies)
Danny Burstein (Follies)
Hugh Jackman (Back on Broadway)
Ephraim Sykes (Newsies)

Nominee Lisa Nicole Wilkerson, Arcell Cabuag, and nominee Krystal Joy Brown. (Photo: Michael McAuliffe)

Outstanding Broadway Choreographers:
Sergio Trujillo, (Leap of Faith)
Kathleen Marshall, (Nice Work If You Can Get It)
Rob Ashford (Evita)
Christopher Gattelli (Newsies)
Steve Hoggett (Once)
Ron Brown (Porgy & Bess)

Nominated Films are:

Feature Films/Fictional:
The Artist
Musical Chairs
Damsels in Distress
WE (Madonna)

Joffrey: Mavericks of American Dance
First Position
Check Your Body at the Door
Never Stand Still

Updated: May 17, 2012, 1:29 pm
Appeared In: out and about >> within the city