The 10th Annual Southampton House Tour "Insider's View," presented by Southampton History Museum, is one not to be missed.
"Our annual home tour is my favorite event because it's different every year. It's a unique experience, for myself and our guests, to have an exclusive - and maybe only - look inside the premiere properties of Southampton's estate section," Tom Edmonds
, Southampton History Museum Executive Director, shared.
This year's tour will take attendees to eight Southampton homes and historical buildings, with a nod to the area's inimitable architectural history - exploring colonial days all the way up to the present.
The Windmill House was purchased by C. Wyllys Betts in 1880. Originally situated in Good Ground (now know as Hampton Bays), Betts moved it to Southampton, and then attached it to his cottage on Gin Lane. Its current owners acquired it in 1989, and brought it back to its former glory, restoring the mill and its sails.
Folly Fields' owners enlisted architect Eric Woodward to create a weekend getaway that boasted a traditional design, which fit into the neighborhood. The home features a large living room, as well as well-equipped kitchen that makes entertaining a breeze. There's also a movie theater on the lower level and a rose-covered pergola - their "folly."
Elegant Getaway, a classic shingle-style Hamptons estate, features stylish rounded lines, statement wrap around porches and asymmetric, yet balanced, architectural form.
The Farm House, a recently constructed home, was designed by local architect Brian Brady
. Its location on the property maximizes views of the magnificent garden settings created by Landscape Details. The village abode boasts four floors of living space, including seven bedrooms.
The 1708 House, a historic structure that is currently being utilized as a boutique hotel in the heart of the village, underwent a meticulous restoration in 1993 to preserve the local landmark. Sixty years prior to the 1708 date Jonas Bower laid the foundation for his residence on this exact spot. Nowadays, his basement serves as the hotel's wine cellar. In 1698, Isaac Bower constructed a bigger house over the original, which the present owners believe conspiratorial patriots may have met up in the cellar to swap details about the activities of the British occupying forces during the Revolutionary War. In, 1799, the prominent Hunting family of local whaling fame took ownership of the home, and then the Foster family purchased it. Refreshments will be served at 1708 House from 1 to 4:30 p.m. along with tours of the house.
Situated at the foot of Lake Agawam, St. Andrew's Dune Church is one of Southampton's most charming landmarks. It originally served as a life-saving station, but Dr. T. Gaillard Thomas acquired the property and donated as a church in 1879. A local carpenter was enlisted to create its beautiful rustic interior, which features many treasures, including its 11 Tiffany widows. While the Church is non-denominational, its summer services are spearheaded under the direction of Southampton's Episcopal Church.
The Thomas Halsey Homestead
, New York State's oldest English-style house, was a farm established in 1648 by Thomas Halsey, one of Southampton's original settlers. The Southampton History Museum manages the historic house museum, which is open to the public offering an authentic setting to showcase furnishings and tools that a flourishing farming family during America's Colonial Period would have used.
Another iconic Southampton spot, the original Rogers Memorial Library
site, was established in 1892 with a bequest made in the will of Harriet J. Rogers, in memory of her mother, Clarissa Rogers. R.H. Robertson, a notable New York architect and Southampton summer resident, designed the building. He selected hard burned North River brick for the Victorian Gothic building and a slated roof. The Library originally could accommodate 250 people, with a large reading room, a reference and librarian's room and shelves for 20,000 volumes. There was an apartment located above that was intended for the custodian. Construction firm, Holland Emslio, of Cornwall Landing, New York, took on the project for $20,000, with the library opening to the public in 1896. Grosvenor Atterbury, another well-known architect who summered in Southampton, designed the Library's 1915 addition. However, the Library found itself in need of additional space, leading to the move to its current location.
There will be a Kick Off Toast at One Kings Lane (the original Rogers Memorial Library site) from 12 to 1:30 p.m. The self-guided house tour will be held from 1 to 4 p.m. and the event will culminate with a Champagne Reception at the Rogers Mansion
from 4:30 to 6 p.m.
The admission fee is $125 in advance and $145 on the day of the tour. "Insider's View" tickets may be picked up on the day of the tour at Halsey House (249 South Main Street, Southampton) starting at 10:30 a.m.
For more information, call 631-283-2494 or visit www.southamptonhistory.org.
Nicole is the Editor-in-Chief of Hamptons.com where she focuses on lifestyle, nightlife, and mixology. She grew up in the Hamptons and currently resides in Water Mill. www.hamptons.com