Log In   ·   Become A Member

The School Of American Ballet Winter Ball

Originally Posted: March 08, 2012

Nicholas Bos in front of specially designed window. (David X Prutting/BFAnyc.com)

Chelsea Clinton and Amanda Brotman. (David X Prutting/BFAnyc.com)

New York City - On Monday, March 5, 2012, The School of American Ballet held its highest profile annual benefit, the Winter Ball. This glamorous black-tie dinner dance at Lincoln Center's David H. Koch Theater was attended by 400 patrons, including the School's board members and alumni as well as leaders from the New York corporate and social communities. The event featured a one-time-only performance by the advanced students of the School of American Ballet choreographed specifically for this event by SAB and NYCB alumna Melinda Roy. Proceeds from the Winter Ball are used to award scholarships, maintain world-class studios and residence halls, and offer vital student programs beyond the classroom. Almost $1 million was raised to support the School of American Ballet.

This year Winter Ball guests stepped outside of everyday life and into a fantasy world as the School honored ballet's Russian heritage. The David H. Koch Theater Promenade was transformed by Ron Wendt Designs and Van Cleef & Arpels into a dramatic and elaborate Winter Palace.

The Encore is the Winter Ball's after-party. After dinner, 200 of the city's philanthropic chic young professionals joined the Winter Ball for dessert and dancing to music by DJ Coleman Feltes.

Notable attendees included Brie Bythewood (Young Patron Co-Chair), Nicolas Bos (President and CEO of the Americas, Van Cleef & Arpels), Ashley Bouder (Principal Dancer, NYCB), Amanda Brotman (Young Patron Co-Chair), Chelsea Clinton (Young Patron Co-Chair), Charlotte D'Ambroise, Lindsay Degen (Designer), Alexandra Lebenthal and Jay Diamond, Diana (Co-Chair) and Joseph DiMenna, Prince Dimitri of Yugoslavia, Elizabeth Miller (Honorary Chair), Effie and Robert Fribourg, Pamela Joyner (Honorary Chair) and Alfred J. Giuffrida, Sterling Hyltin (Principal Dancer, NYCB), Jill and Harry Kargman, Julia (Co-Chair) and David Koch, Coco (Founding Chair) and Arie Kopelman, Caroline Lagerfelt (Actress, "Gossip Girl"), Nicolas Luchsinger (Vice President of Retail and Director of the Heritage Collection, Van Cleef & Arpels), Viktor Luna (Designer, "Project Runway" Finalist), Yvonne Lynam (Fifth Avenue Boutique Store Director, Van Cleef & Arpels), Ann-Marie MacFarlane (Young Patron Co-Chair), Terrence Mann, Nole Marin (Celebrity Stylist, Former "America's Next Top Model" Judge), Darci Kistler (Former Principal Dancer, NYCB) and Peter Martins (Chairman of Faculty, SAB), Sara Mearns (Principal Dancer, NYCB), Gillian and Sylvester Miniter, Liz and Jeffrey Peek, Lisa Perry (Designer), Betsy (Co-Chair) and Robert Pitts, David Prottas (Dancer, NYCB), Kelly Rutherford (Actress, "Gossip Girl"), Jean and Martin Shafiroff, Marjorie Van Dercook (Executive Director, SAB), Eileen Guggenheim and Russell Wilkinson.

Van Cleef & Arpels held set atmosphere for the evening. (David X Prutting/BFAnyc.com)

Gala Chairs included Diana Menna, Julia Koch and Betsy Pitts. Founding Chair is Coco Kopelman. Honorary Chairs were Pamela Joyner and Elizabeth R. Miller. Young Patron Chairs included Amanda Brotman, Brie Bythewood, Chelsea Clinton, and Ann-Marie MacFarlane.


Related Articles:

Be the first to comment on this article. (Just fill out the form below)

Submit Your Comment

Please note, you are not currently logged in. Your comment will be submitted as a guest.
To submit your comment as a member, please click here.
Your Name:
* Comments will be reviewed and posted in a timely fashion
* All fields are required
Please type the word 'water'
(For spam prevention, thanks)