Log In   ·   Become A Member

Dicapo Opera Presents ’The Most Happy Fella’

Originally Posted: March 14, 2012

Leah Lane, Michael Corvino and cast. (Rob Rich)

New York City - This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Dicapo Opera Theatre. The production of "The Most Happy Fella" hints at how this small theatre company has remained open while other small non-profits fail. An intimate theater, talented performers and theater the old fashioned way - no microphones!

Lauren Hoffmeier and Brance Cornelius. (Rob Rich)

The high artistic level of Dicapo's productions has invariably taken critics by surprise and given rise to a serious and loyal following of connoisseurs and opera aficionados. Co-founded in 1981 by Capasso and Diane Martindale, Dicapo performs repertoire that runs the gamut from crowd-pleasing traditional operas to rarely-heard operas and at least one contemporary work each season.

"The Most Happy Fella," considered to be one of the most ambitiously operatic shows ever written for the Broadway stage opened last week. This May-September romance features a book, music, and lyrics by Tony-Award winner Frank Loesser, best known for "Guys and Dolls" and "How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying." "The Most Happy Fella" is directed by Michael Capasso and the conductor is Pacien Mazzagatti. Choreography is by Francine Harmon, set design by John Farrell, costume design by Julie Wyma and lighting design by Susan Roth.

The cast features Michael Corvino, Molly Mustonen, Lauren Hoffmeier, Brance Cornelius, Peter Kendall Clark, Bess Morrison, Michael Hopewell, Paolo Buffagni,Michael Imbimbo, Vincent Ricciardi, Leah Lane, David Kelleher-Flight, Brian Ribeiro, Nicholas Connolly and Jonathan Harris.

Chorus. (Rob Rich)

The Dicapo women's chorus members for The Most Happy Fella" are Colleen A.C. Beaumont, Donna Breiter, Dina El, Christina Faiccho, Bevin Hill, Andrea Chinedo Nwoke, Maria Osterrich, Chablis Quarterman, Micaella Robinson, Ashley Rizzo, Rachel Selan, Christian Sineath, Roza Tulyaganova, Anna Voevoda, and Diane Wangerin. The men's chorus members are Jonathan Harris, Aaron Mor, and Jorge Alexis Ortiz.

For more information, click here.


Related Articles:

Be the first to comment on this article. (Just fill out the form below)

Submit Your Comment

Please note, you are not currently logged in. Your comment will be submitted as a guest.
To submit your comment as a member, please click here.
Your Name:
* Comments will be reviewed and posted in a timely fashion
* All fields are required
What color is a banana?
(For spam prevention, thanks)